Skip to main content
HSCHome | Directory | Map | InsideHSC | Web Mail | Search OUHSC

Finding Full Text: Journal Articles

OVERVIEW

You have options available if you’re trying to find out if the Bird Library provides full text access to a journal article:

  • Browse or search the Journals A-Z List
  • Search by journal title, or 
  • Search by PMID or DOI number

The print journal collection is shelved alphabetically by journal title on the Bird Library's 4th floor.

Need more information about PMIDs or DOIs?

JOURNALS & EBOOKS A-Z LIST

Access the most comprehensive list of journals available through the library directly from the Bird Library’s home page by clicking on Journals & eBooks A-Z:

  • Browse for your journal by using the A-Z menu at the top of the page or
  • Search the list by entering the journal title or title words 

 

Once you find your journal title, the options for access will vary:

  • View It. If electronic full text is available you should see the View It tab; click to display your options for full text. If multiple options are available, coverage may vary, so click on the provider that appears most likely to contain the content you need.
  • Get It. If there is no electronic access you will see the Get It tab; click to see a summary of the Bird Library's print holdings, if available, or to access document delivery services.

 

If electronic full text is available, proceed to the journal's home page and follow the navigation prompts to connect to the volume and issue you need; for older issues look for links to "All Issues" or "Archives".

 

When you locate your article, click on the link provided to view, print, or save the full text.

SEARCH BY JOURNAL TITLE

Click on Catalog from the Bird Library’s home page:

  • In the first drop-down menu select "in the title" and enter the title or title words of the journal
  • In the Material Type field select Journals from the drop-down list
  • The Search Scope field will default to Print Only; you can change the search scope to Print and Electronic to broaden your retrieval
  • Click on Search

 

Browse your search results to find the journal title that contains your article and explore the options for access:

  • View It. If electronic full text is available you should see the View It tab; click to display your options for full text. If multiple options are available, coverage may vary, so click on the provider that appears most likely to contain the content you need.
  • Get It. If there is no electronic access you will see the Get It tab; click to see a summary of the Bird Library's print holdings, if available, or to access document delivery services.

 

If electronic full text is available, proceed to the journal's home page and follow the navigation prompts to connect to the volume and issue you need; for older issues look for links to "All Issues" or "Archives".

 

When you locate your article, click on the link provided to view, print, or save the full text.

SEARCH BY PMID OR DOI

If you know the PMID assigned to your article you can use it to search for full text: 

 

If you know the DOI assigned to your article follow the steps below to search for full text: 

  • Access the Journals & eBooks A-Z List directly from the Bird Library’s home page 
  • Click on "citationlinker" in the top right hand corner 
  • Select the Article tab
  • Enter your DOI in the appropriate field and click on Go

 

Once you find your citation, the options for access will vary:

  • View It. If electronic full text is available you should see the View It tab; click to display your options for full text. If multiple options are available, coverage may vary, so click on the provider that appears most likely to contain the content you need.
  • Get It. If there is no electronic access you will see the Get It tab; click to see a summary of the Bird Library's print holdings, if available, or to access Document Delivery Services.

 

If electronic full text is available, proceed to the journal's home page and follow the navigation prompts to connect to the volume and issue you need; for older issues look for links to "All Issues" or "Archives".

 

When you locate your article, click on the link provided to view, print, or save the full text.

 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION - PMID / DOI

What is a PMID?

  • In the PubMed interface, the PMID is simply a series of numbers that provide a unique identifier for each article in the database.
  • Every record in PubMed, even those that are not indexed for MEDLINE, will have a PMID assigned.
  • You'll find the PMID at the bottom of every reference.
  • In Ovid MEDLINE, the PMID is referred to as the Unique Identifier or UI.

 

What is a DOI?

  • DOI or Digital Object Identifier is a unique string of alphanumeric characters utilized to locate specific material on the Internet.
  • Here is an example of an actual DOI: 10.1289/ehp.1104305.